Research: Semiotics and symbols

What is Semiotics?

Semiotics is the study of signs and sign-using behaviour in relation to symbolism. A sign can be a word, sound or visual image.  This study began in France originating from linguistic context. It can be divided into two components. The signifier, which is the sound, image or word. And the signifies which is the idea represented by the signifier. The problem with this is the signifier may have different meaning to different people. So when I am using symbols in my work I need to pick a symbol which is well known and generic.


I am going to be using a GPS symbol in my work. To use this successfully I need to understand what GPS is and how it works. “GPS tracking is the surveillance of location through use of the Global Positioning System to track the location of an entity or object remotely. The technology can pinpoint longitude, latitude, ground speed, and course direction of the target.” Therefore my application of using this logo to portray stalking will be successful. My only problem will be making it appear photo real.


I am going to use a heart with an arrow to communicate the idea of my dating app. This symbol is associated with Valentine’s day as cupid’s arrow shots through people and makes them fall in love. Cupid is the mythological love god. The heart represents the love aspect. Therefore I believe everyone will understand this is about dating as the heart is a generic symbol internationally.

websites used;

http://spot.colorado.edu/~moriarts/vissemiotics.html
http://whatis.techtarget.com/definition/GPS-tracking
http://www.collinsdictionary.com/dictionary/english/cupid-s-arrow
http://rajalaxmi-liza.blogspot.co.nz/2011/05/why-arrow-in-heart-symbol.html

Leave a Reply

